Charlotte Muth

I’m Charlotte, a Californian living in the East Village. I like the color green and crying at the movies.

My writing often explores the insecurity of being young and the ineffable ways we long for connection in isolating times. I’m intrigued by these forces within us that perpetually menace our precarious security, as James Baldwin aptly put it. I’ve dabbled in fiction and have written commissioned pieces about history and pop culture.

You can reach me at charlottemuth [at] gmail [dot] com.

Selected Writing

Insecure Tea

Insecure Tea is where you are right now. My passion. My hell. My Substack. I call it a serial memoir. The project of rendering life literarily. Being a direct-to-subscriber platform, I’ve also had the freedom to explore concert reporting, book reviews, and recommendation writing. Below are some of my best-loved essays.

how to get there (11/6/2023)
mine all mine (9/25/2023)
bookends (5/30/2023)
let these be your desires (3/28/2023)

Berkeley Fiction Review

BFR is UC Berkeley’s oldest prose journal, with notable contributors including Charles Bukowski, Will Eno, and Joyce Carol Oates.

“Marion,” a short story published in Issue 39.

BARE Magazine

BARE Magazine is UC Berkeley’s fashion, arts and lifestyle magazine.

On Self-Indulgence and Wet Suits (Fall 2019)
What is Elegance? (Spring 2016)
Silver Screen Revisited: High Fidelity (6/25/2018)

Boundary Stones

WETA is Washington DC’s PBS station. Boundary Stones is WETA’s local history blog.

Reston’s Roots: Black Activism in Virginia’s New Town (3/31/2022)
We’Wha Visits the Capital (7/28/2021)
Remembering Kit Kamien (12/15/2020)